ILVO as a structured organization

ILVO is a multidisciplinary research institute consisting of 4 main research units. As a Flemish scientific institution, ILVO receives a basic subsidy from Flemish Government’s Agriculture and Fisheries policy area. Further it has an Own Capital fund consisting of project and contract research and revenue generated by sales of research-related services and products.

ILVO’s mission is to provide policy-supportive and knowledge-building research with an eye toward economically, ecologically and socially sustainable agriculture, fisheries and food production.

We offer young and ambitious researchers and supporters the opportunity to develop a scientific career. The agri-food sector can use our scientific knowledge through project-based activities and conducting targeted analyses or technological tests.

Staff and infrastructure

ILVO employs more than 600 people, some directly through statutory assignments or contracts with the Flemish Government; other employees are funded through projects, contracts and ILVO’s Own Capital fund. More than one-third of ILVO staff are researchers. ILVO has approximately 200 ha of experimental fields, 15,000 m2 of greenhouses and more than 20,000 m2 of experimental animal housing. There are various labs for analysis and detection, a Diagnostic Center for Plants and accredited laboratories for plants, feed, spraying techniques, food and GMOs. ILVO also has test benches, an experimental dairy facility and a pilot plant, and a seed processing unit.

ILVO operations

ILVO receives an annual basic subsidy from the Flemish Government. These funds cover a foundational stipend for operations and also pay the wages of the statutory and government-contract ILVO staff.

In addition to the basic subsidy from the Flemish Government, ILVO has income from project-funded research and own funds. The income and expenses of these project funds and other own income streams are managed by the ILVO Own Capital fund (“EV-ILVO”) and EV-ILVO Management Commission.

Research Structure

The research activities are managed via four research units: Plant Sciences, Animal Sciences, Technology and Food Science, and Social Sciences. Each unit is subdivided into research areas.